Bravo to MORE Magazine and Wilhelmina Model Agency!

REAL WOMEN MODELS?? COULD IT BE TRUE???
Imagine that! A woman who isn’t 18 and a size 1 – in a modeling contest! What fun!

Evidently MORE Magazine and Wilhelmina Models have teamed up to host what will be the eighth annual More/Wilhelmina 40+ Model Search, and only women 40 and older need apply. How often do you see those words?? The contest runs between Aug. 15 and Nov. 15, and to enter, or find out ‘More’ about it you can pick up the latest edition of the magazine or go to MORE or Wilhelmina Models.

I used to model in my youth…actually I was one of the first ‘chubby’ (not to say fat) models with an agency that started up in the late ’60s in New York City…Funny Face. It had the corner on the market for supplying unusual models that didn’t fit into the tall, thin (not to say anorexic) class. I got one of the best compliments of my career on one of those jobs…it was a pantyhose ad for the NY Times Magazine section, and it was shot by a famous fashion photographer (whose name, along with about 30 years of the 65 years of information stored in my brain has left the building). It was me and a ‘real’ model in pantyhose looking over our shoulders at the camera, and during the shoot he called out to me and the whole studio “Hey, too bad we don’t have more of these fashion plate models here…you could show them how to do it!” – So its nice to see that some people, at least, have become aware that you don’t have to be teen queen to be a great model.

Who knows, I may screw my courage to the sticking point and take my size 20 65-year-old body and throw it in the mix! – (The expense-paid trip to the NY finals and the lovely prizes, including a fashion spread in More, ARE tempting!) Or…. not, since I personally find it more and more difficult just to put lipstick on. – But if you’re over 40 and feel like a fun adventure, this might be a great one!
Judith over-40-and-lovin’-it Drake
In The Trenches Productions

Published in: on August 22, 2007 at 1:23 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://debbiez12.wordpress.com/2007/08/22/bravo-to-more-magazine-and-wilhelmina-model-agency/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I know! I saw that and was so happy! It is so nice to see a magazine put real, everyday women in a feature. I don’t know of any other magazine that would do that! I love it!


Leave a Reply

